Lonnie Chisenhall astounded Yankees didn’t examination call

CLEVELAND — Lonnie Chisenhall had a elementary answer when asked if Chad Green’s representation strike him in a bottom of a sixth inning: “I’m not a umpire.”


Home image referee Dan Iassogna pronounced it did strike Chisenhall’s palm — not his bat — and awarded a Indians pinch-hitter initial bottom to bucket a bases. The call altered a march of Friday’s ALDS Game 2, as good as a march of a Yankees’ season, as they went on to lose 9-8 in 13 innings.

Replays seemed to uncover a representation strike Chisenhall’s bat, and given Gary Sanchez held a ball, Chisenhall should have struck out to finish a inning.

Instead, Francisco Lindor came to a image and strike a grand impact off a right-field tainted stick to get a Indians to within a run.

Joe Girardi opted not to plea a hit-by-pitch call, that held even Chisenhall off guard.

“With a volume of hurdles we have, it was surprising,” Chisenhall said. “On a video, apparently we couldn’t tell approbation or no. If it would have gotten overturned, we don’t know. I’m not a umpire.”

Neither is Sanchez, yet he attempted to get Girardi to plea a play.

“I only screamed, ‘Foul!’ [to a umpire],” Sanchez pronounced by an interpreter. “I suspicion we listened something. we wasn’t certain what.”
Sanchez looked over to a dugout, yet Girardi didn’t go for a review.

“There was zero that told us that he was not strike on a pitch,’’ Girardi said. “By a time we got a super delayed mo, we are over a minute. It was approach too late. They tell us we have a 30 seconds. They will take longer in replay. … And substantially being a catcher, my suspicion is we never wish to mangle a pitcher’s rhythm. That’s how we consider about it.”

Girardi finally private Green, and David Robertson finished a inning by distinguished out Jason Kipnis, yet a repairs had been done.
Both Sanchez and Chisenhall remarkable Chisenhall didn’t conflict on a pitch, another pointer that a round didn’t strike him, given it was a 97-mph fastball.




“I really listened something,” Sanchez said. “I wasn’t certain if it strike a bat. we don’t consider it strike him given he never reacted to that. He stood still there.”

“I didn’t conflict during all,” Chisenhall said. “I go with what a referee says. we felt some quivering down there in your palm and we go down to initial bottom and we let a replay take caring of itself.”

In this case, though, there was no replay, and Chisenhall concurred a break.

“Absolutely,” Chisenhall said. “I stabbed during a round there and got initial bottom and we took advantage of it.”

As for his miss of reaction, Chisenhall said: “Sometimes we don’t even know [if we got hit]. With replay now, we don’t try to sell anything. You don’t try to play anything off. You only run to initial and let replay take caring of it.”


Do you have an unusual story to tell? E-mail stories@tutuz.com