SpaceX to Launch Used Rocket for 1st Time Tonight: Watch Live

SpaceX will launch one of a used rockets on an orbital space goal this dusk (March 30) for a initial time ever, and we can watch a ancestral liftoff live.


The SES-10 communications satellite is scheduled to lift off atop SpaceX’s two-stage Falcon 9 rocket during 6:27 p.m. EDT (2227 GMT) currently from NASA’s Kennedy Space Center in Florida. You can watch a spaceflight movement — that will embody an attempted alighting by a booster’s initial theatre — live here during Space.com, pleasantness of SpaceX, commencement during 6:07 p.m. EDT (2207 GMT).

You can also follow a goal directly around SpaceX here: http://www.spacex.com/webcast.

This will be a second orbital debate of avocation for this Falcon 9 initial stage. The upholder helped launch SpaceX’s Dragon load plug toward a International Space Station in Apr 2016, afterwards came down for a pinpoint landing on a robotic “drone ship” in a Atlantic Ocean about 8 mins after liftoff.

The initial theatre will try another drone-ship alighting this evening, SpaceX member have said.

Such touchdowns are partial of SpaceX’s query to rise fast reusable rockets, a record that association owner and CEO Elon Musk has pronounced could coax a spaceflight series by slicing costs. SpaceX has landed 8 Falcon 9 initial stages to date, though this evening’s goal outlines a initial moody of a used booster.

The SES-10 satellite will be operated by Luxembourg-based association SES, and will yield promote services to people opposite Latin America.

This evening’s launch will be SpaceX’s third from Kennedy Space Center’s ancestral Launch Complex 39A, that hosted many of NASA’s Apollo moon goal and space convey liftoffs. SpaceX sealed a 20-year franchise to use a pad in 2014.

The SES-10 goal is not a usually spaceflight movement on daub today. NASA astronauts Shane Kimbrough and Peggy Whitson are scheduled to try outward a International Space Station during around 8 a.m. EDT (1200 GMT) on a 6.5-hour spacewalk.

“Thursday’s spacewalk will see Whitson and Kimbrough finish wire connectors during a Pressurized Mating Adapter-3 only recently trustworthy to a Harmony module’s space-facing port,” NASA officials wrote in an update. “The PMA-3 relocation gets a hire prepared for a new International Docking Adapter-3 set to be delivered on a destiny SpaceX Dragon load mission.”

The spacewalk will be Whitson’s eighth — a many ever for a womanlike astronaut, NASA officials said. Whitson had common that symbol with NASA wanderer Sunita Williams. (The altogether record for many spacewalks is 16, hold by cosmonaut Anatoly Solovyev.)

Spacewalk coverage starts during 6:30 a.m. EDT (1030 GMT). You can watch it on Space.com, pleasantness of NASA TV.

Follow Mike Wall on Twitter @michaeldwall and Google+. Follow us @Spacedotcom, Facebook or Google+. Originally published on Space.com.


Do you have an unusual story to tell? E-mail stories@tutuz.com